Chris1.jpg Z3.jpg Z1.jpg Matt.jpg Apple.jpg Borek.jpg

IAABO Nassau County Board 41

Casey Gaskin Camp Scholarship

The scholarship honors the memory of two of our departed members - Tom Casey Sr. and Joe Gaskin Sr. Their dedication and commitment to officiating paved the way for both of their sons to follow in their footsteps and become two of our top officials. Tom and Joe were very involved in our association, and would have been greatly honored to have this scholarship, which is intended to strengthen our board, presented in their names. It was our intention to not only honor Tom and Joe, but have their names memorialized in what has now become an annual tradition.

The first Annual Award was presented to member Jeff Harris at our Annual Dinner held at Chateau Briand on March 20th, 2013.

This year’s Casey/Gaskin Scholarship recipient is Stephen McDade. He is an individual who is truly striving to be the best official he can be. When reviewing the various applications that were submitted, it became obvious that Stephen was taking advantage of all the resources made available to our members. He attending various camps, and was observed by highly regarded varsity officials that observed and critiqued his games through our Big Brother Program. Joe Gaskin and Tom Casey both had high praise for this year’s recipient. They remarked that he is an individual who we will be hearing a lot about in the future, especially when the names of officials who worked the playoffs are announced at future dinners. Congratulations to the 2013 / 2014 Casey / Gaskin Camp Scholarship Winner Stephen McDade!

The next award will be presented at our next dinner in March of 2015.

The application will be posted on the web site during the 2014/2015 season.

Thank you.
The Board of Directors